Glucophage
Reviews

(metformin)

3.7/ 5 average rating with 938 reviewsformetformin
Tried metformin? Write a review!
938 
Select what matters most to you
Tried metformin? Write a review!
938 reviews so far
 
65%
saidit'sworth it
46%
saiditworked well
16%
saidit'sa big hassle
  • Reviewed metforminon 1/29/2017Due to diarrhea, I find it helps to take it after main meals. i take 1 in the morning after breakfast, and take 1 after evening meal.
    58
    Woman
    Type 2 diabetes
  • Reviewed metforminon 6/26/2015With its 900mg twice a day dosage in my case you'd be definitely prone to side effects. Have found diet control plus exercise to be a much better option. I now take one dosage every three days just as a precautionary measure.
    45
    Man
    A month or so
  • Reviewed metforminon 7/14/2016Causes low sugar readings if you do not follow food recommendations.
    67
    Man
    Type 2 diabetes
  • Reviewed metforminon 7/18/2016Always take it after meals to minimize the side effects, diarrhea and nausea can overwhelm you in the first couple of weeks.
    29
    Man
    Type 2 diabetes
  • Reviewed metforminon 8/27/2016Be prepared for uncontrollable diareah
    60
    Woman
    Type 2 diabetes
  • Reviewed metforminon 9/9/2016Cut back on fiber supplements when using metformin
    71
    Man
    Type 2 diabetes
  • Reviewed metforminon 10/3/2016Taken for PCOS. All it did was give me horrible non-stop diarrhea. Awful med.
    39
    Woman
    Type 2 diabetes
  • Reviewed metforminon 10/5/2016Not actually taken for type 2 diabetes, but for glucose intolerance from PCOS. This is a b**** and a half to get used to, and it only works if you actually are gluten intolerant. For me, it is very effective because I actually am, but a friend who was prescribed this who was mis-diagnosed as gluten intolerant had terrible side effects. It's pretty bad when you are ramping up to full dosage, leveling out after a few months, so if it's still bad after that see your doctor.
    25
    Woman
    Type 2 diabetes
  • Reviewed metforminon 10/10/2016Taken for PCOS. Weeks of terrible diarrhea and cramping. Switched to taking a combo of Myo-Inositol and Folate, which worked better without any nasty side effects. Metformin has not been worth it for any PCOS patient I have met, and I know several.
    36
    Woman
    Type 2 diabetes