Depakote
Reviews

(divalproex)

3.3/ 5 average rating with 97 reviewsforDepakote
Tried Depakote? Write a review!
97 
Select what matters most to you
Tried Depakote? Write a review!
97 reviews so far
 
46%
saidit'sworth it
40%
saiditworked well
27%
saidit'sa big hassle
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed divalproexon 7/14/2019I've been taking Depakote/divalproex for a little over a year and it has helped my anxiety and to tremendously stabilize my mood. Gained weight on it, but it was a desirable side effect as I am a bodybuilder and work out regularly so the added weight was mostly muscle.
    25
    Man
    A year or so
    Bipolar disorder
  • Not worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed divalproexon 5/20/2019Took both depakote ER and divalproex for long periods of time. Gained about 20-30 pounds. Seizures were well controlled but hair loss and weight gain were aggressive. Switching to Lamotrigine soon.
    22
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Epilepsy
  • Not sure
    Some hassle
    Reviewed divalproexon 2/13/2018Worked well for migraine prevention but caused weight gain, some nausea with occasional vomitting and hand tremors. stopped taking due to side effects
    53
    Man
    A year or so
    Would rather not say
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Depakoteon 9/11/2017Been working great for me for years. No complaints. Seizures very well controlled.
    56
    Man
    Two years or more
    Seizures
  • Not worth it
    Reviewed Depakoteon 8/15/2017This medication was very effective in treating my bipolar type II. Unfortunately it also caused a 60 lb. weight gain in a very short period of time.
    49
    Woman
    A few months
    Bipolar II disorder
  • Not sure
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Depakoteon 8/8/2017Weight gain, 20 lbs in a year. Half of my hair thinned out after 4 months taking it. 1 year later it's finally starting to look decent but not like it was. Tried to change some eating habits and joined a gym. And my appetite is still not the same. I'm trying to get my dr to put me on something different
    27
    Woman
    A year or so
    Bipolar II disorder
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Depakoteon 7/22/2017Its the best Migraine prevention medication period. I started and stay on a low does of 500mg and did not need to increase. I would advice people to start a on 500mg and only increase if needed after three months. Depakote ER Saved works best; it saved me from a miserable life of pain.
    49
    Man
    A few months
    Migraine prevention
  • Worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Depakoteon 7/11/2017In order to be at a therapeutic dose I had to suffer from extreme fatigue. I had to go down a dose just to have some energy.
    27
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Bipolar II disorder
  • Not worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed DepakoteLittle beneficial effect but unpleasant side effects, including headaches
    59
    Man