Effexor
Reviews

(venlafaxine)

3.7/ 5 average rating with 577 reviewsforEffexor
Tried Effexor? Write a review!
577 
Select what matters most to you
Tried Effexor? Write a review!
577 reviews so far
 
62%
saidit'sworth it
51%
saiditworked well
23%
saidit'sa big hassle
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed venlafaxineon 3/5/2018Do not run out of your prescription! Withdrawal symptoms are noticeable in less than 24 hours.
    51
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Obsessive-compulsive disorder
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Effexor XRon 3/2/2018I want to get off this drug
    29
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Would rather not say
    • Not worth it
      Big hassle
      Reviewed venlafaxineon 3/1/2018I can stress enough that this drug should be a LAST RESORT. The withdrawals are horrible, and the multitude of people stating such are not lying. I was warned about the withdrawals by my psychologist, so I asked my Dr that was prescribing this med. She said the withdrawal horror stories were not true - WRONG. She has never taken this drug - the stories are true. I was only on it for 2 months (it made me much much worse, not better)
      48
      Man
      A few months
      Would rather not say
      Worth it
      Low hassle
      Review Effexor and help someone like you today!
      Your age
      Your gender
      Your condition
      How long did you take it?
  • Not sure
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Effexor XRon 2/28/2018This drug is very hard to get off of. Withdrawal symptoms were extreme. Took me 6 months or more to wean​ off.
    50
    Man
    Two years or more
    Would rather not say
  • Not sure
    Reviewed Effexor XRon 2/28/2018Doctor switched me from Fluoxitine to venlafaxine. I haven't started it yet but I'm kinda scared to 😢. Anyone has suggestions
    33
    Woman
    Would rather not say
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed venlafaxineon 2/26/2018Don't stop until doc says it's ok this is a very good antidepressant other than more gas nut im on top of the world
    51
    Man
    A year or so
    Diabetic neuropathy (nerve damage)
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Effexor XRon 2/24/2018Although it has no effects on sexual desire, the 70mg dose started to interfere with my ability to climax. This went away when I went back to 37.5. I was told however, that if I'd waited a little longer, this side effect would have gone away, even at higher doses.
    50
    Man
    A few months
    Obsessive-compulsive disorder
  • Not worth it
    Reviewed venlafaxineon 2/22/2018May work for others but for me it left me with no appetite at all, had a horrible feeling in my stomach too
    47
    Man
    A couple weeks
    Would rather not say
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Effexor XRon 2/21/2018Was on this drug for 6 months, 150mg. Took it for generalized anxiety and depression, the first month I took it I was basically bed-ridden because of the side effects. After that it helped with my social anxiety but didn’t do much for generalized anxiety. Did pretty much nothing for my depression, had more self harm/intrusive thoughts. Made me have super weird and intense nightmares, and gave me muscle spasms. Withdrawals have been hard, research before you try!!!
    21
    Woman
    A few months
    Would rather not say
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed venlafaxineon 2/19/2018I was initially taking Lexapro for 4 yrs for panic attacks. One day it just stopped working and I started having them almost daily and my life was falling apart. I was a wreck and just trying to get through the days and work. This has been a miracle as far as eliminating the attacks. It does seem to give me tummy troubles though. But it's better than panic attacks. I take Nexium 40 mg everyday to deal with the stomach issues.
    39
    Woman
    A few months
    Would rather not say