Effexor
Reviews

(venlafaxine)

3.7/ 5 average rating with 577 reviewsforEffexor
Tried Effexor? Write a review!
577 
Select what matters most to you
Tried Effexor? Write a review!
577 reviews so far
 
62%
saidit'sworth it
51%
saiditworked well
23%
saidit'sa big hassle
  • Not worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed venlafaxineon 8/10/2019If it’s your first time taking meds for mental health talk to a psychiatrist. Effexor is jokingly known as side-Effexor by MDs because of how many side effects it includes. they will likely start you with Paxil or Lexapro
    30
    Man
    A few months
    Anxiety
  • Worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Effexor XRon 8/7/2019Take the medication at the same time every day. Even missing just one day will cause severe withdrawals. That being said, this is the only anti depressant/anxiety that has ever worked for me and I am so thankful for it
    21
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Depression
  • Not sure
    Big hassle
    Reviewed venlafaxineon 7/31/2019I have been on it since Sept 2015 when I had a nervous breakdown but I feel i'm getting too many side effects now so want to change to lexopram which has fewer side effects
    57
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Depression
  • Worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Effexor XRon 7/28/2019Very good to concentration and improves your humor, more desire to do your obligations on work and good to keep your word to doing things you need. It makes life better, really. But have that terrible side effect with your libido. That's very bad.
    38
    Man
    A few months
    Depression
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Effexor XRon 7/27/2019Try this as a potential last resort for your anxiety and/or depression, works for some, did NOT work for me
    24
    Man
    A month or so
    Depression
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Effexor XRon 7/22/2019My opinion, this drug has done the job. I feel great no longer sad for no reason.
    55
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Depression
  • Worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed venlafaxineon 7/11/2019The medicine works well at least in my case for anxiety, but if you miss one day dossis, makes you feel very bad ... leaving it two days is like being in a deep drunken and raw at the same time, dizzines, blackouts, and misorientation of the drunken state with the pains of a hangover
    40
    Man
    Two years or more
    Anxiety
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed venlafaxineon 6/25/2019Was initially put on 50mg once a day, since the XR wasn't working. 50mg caused extreme nausea, sometimes vomiting. Switched to 25mg twice a day, which is much better, as long as I take it with food. Has decreased my depression significantly with less side effects than other drugs. Does cause some dizziness when taken with pain killers like naproxen.
    29
    Woman
    A few months
    Depression
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Effexor XRon 6/25/2019Since Effexor XR is only available in 37.5mg, the lowest does was not enough. 112.5mg had me so dizzy I couldn't sleep. 75mg had me sleeping 12+ hours a day. Switched to 50mg instant release, which gave me extreme nausea. Finally on 25mg twice a day, which seems to be working, as long as I take it with food. The higher doses of the XR also increased urination.
    29
    Woman
    A few months
    Depression