Effexor
Reviews

(venlafaxine)

3.7/ 5 average rating with 577 reviewsforEffexor
Tried Effexor? Write a review!
577 
Select what matters most to you
Tried Effexor? Write a review!
577 reviews so far
 
62%
saidit'sworth it
51%
saiditworked well
23%
saidit'sa big hassle
  • Not worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed venlafaxineon 2/8/2020Seems to work better or worse depending on the diagnosis. I'm not seeing a lot of luck with people like me, who have anxiety/depression. If you have it, it tends to increase depressing thoughts. It works well for a month or two, but then I became dependent, needed more, had worse side effects, and now don't even feel the positive effects anymore. I am still on it; struggling to get off.
    22
    Woman
    A year or so
    Anxiety
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed venlafaxineon 2/7/2020Be patient. Everyone is different, but it’s been a godsend for me.
    44
    Man
    Two years or more
    Anxiety
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed venlafaxineon 1/17/2020The unwanted side effects outweigh any positive effects. I'm sorry to say but Effexor is one of the worst antidepressants I've tried.
    35
    Man
    Two years or more
    Depression
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed venlafaxineon 1/8/2020Was on 75mg XR for hot flashes, missed ONE dose and was bedbound for 3 days! Decided to wean down over months. Still can't get off of it, needing to take about 10 of the little round balls from within the capsule - otherwise brain/body zaps and can't focus.
    55
    Woman
    A year or so
    Hot flashes
  • Not sure
    Big hassle
    Reviewed venlafaxineon 11/30/2019Tried several medications but due to being younger and recently married I had issues with decreased libido, and still have anxiety problems. Started venlafaxine and noticed a change in mood pretty quickly. Unfortunately no one tells you about the crazy side effects and absolutely HORRIBLE withdrawals. If you even miss 1 dose. At this point I would rather have decreased libido on something else rather than having to worry about every going through a withdrawal from this.
    25
    Woman
    A year or so
    Depression
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Effexor XRon 11/21/2019Would not recommend this medicine to anyone. Have been tapering off, however, it still making me very sick. Missing time at work and social gatherings.
    60
    Woman
    A few months
    Depression
  • Not sure
    Some hassle
    Reviewed Effexor XRon 11/9/2019I felt the side affects right away when I missed a day. Very intense. The sweating and nightmares were difficult. It took a few days to feel better. I'm concerned about the withdrawals when missing a dose.
    57
    Woman
    A few months
    Anxiety
  • Not sure
    Big hassle
    Reviewed venlafaxineon 11/4/2019Always set an alarm in case you forget to take your pill (you will sleep 10x as long as you should)
    22
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Depression
  • Not sure
    Big hassle
    Reviewed venlafaxineon 11/3/2019I wish I knew more about the side effects
    57
    Man
    A few months
    Depression