Effexor
Reviews

(venlafaxine)

3.7/ 5 average rating with 577 reviewsforEffexor
Tried Effexor? Write a review!
577 
Select what matters most to you
Tried Effexor? Write a review!
577 reviews so far
 
62%
saidit'sworth it
51%
saiditworked well
23%
saidit'sa big hassle
  • Not worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed venlafaxineon 2/11/2020Had to take at night time because it caused me to be very sleepy, but also caused night sweats along with all the other normal side effects.
    31
    Woman
    A few months
    Depression
  • Not worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed venlafaxineon 2/8/2020Seems to work better or worse depending on the diagnosis. I'm not seeing a lot of luck with people like me, who have anxiety/depression. If you have it, it tends to increase depressing thoughts. It works well for a month or two, but then I became dependent, needed more, had worse side effects, and now don't even feel the positive effects anymore. I am still on it; struggling to get off.
    22
    Woman
    A year or so
    Anxiety
  • Not worth it
    Reviewed Effexor XRon 1/29/2020After 22 years on Brand, l have come to believe that the Effexor has become the cause of my increased depression. Am slowly slowly weaning myself from this terrible med.
    70
    Man
    Two years or more
    Depression
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed venlafaxineon 1/17/2020The unwanted side effects outweigh any positive effects. I'm sorry to say but Effexor is one of the worst antidepressants I've tried.
    35
    Man
    Two years or more
    Depression
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed venlafaxineon 1/8/2020Was on 75mg XR for hot flashes, missed ONE dose and was bedbound for 3 days! Decided to wean down over months. Still can't get off of it, needing to take about 10 of the little round balls from within the capsule - otherwise brain/body zaps and can't focus.
    55
    Woman
    A year or so
    Hot flashes
  • Not sure
    Big hassle
    Reviewed venlafaxineon 11/30/2019Tried several medications but due to being younger and recently married I had issues with decreased libido, and still have anxiety problems. Started venlafaxine and noticed a change in mood pretty quickly. Unfortunately no one tells you about the crazy side effects and absolutely HORRIBLE withdrawals. If you even miss 1 dose. At this point I would rather have decreased libido on something else rather than having to worry about every going through a withdrawal from this.
    25
    Woman
    A year or so
    Depression
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Effexor XRon 11/21/2019Would not recommend this medicine to anyone. Have been tapering off, however, it still making me very sick. Missing time at work and social gatherings.
    60
    Woman
    A few months
    Depression
  • Not sure
    Some hassle
    Reviewed Effexor XRon 11/9/2019I felt the side affects right away when I missed a day. Very intense. The sweating and nightmares were difficult. It took a few days to feel better. I'm concerned about the withdrawals when missing a dose.
    57
    Woman
    A few months
    Anxiety
  • Not sure
    Big hassle
    Reviewed venlafaxineon 11/4/2019Always set an alarm in case you forget to take your pill (you will sleep 10x as long as you should)
    22
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Depression