Effexor
Reviews

(venlafaxine)

3.7/ 5 average rating with 577 reviewsforEffexor
Tried Effexor? Write a review!
577 
Select what matters most to you
Tried Effexor? Write a review!
577 reviews so far
 
62%
saidit'sworth it
51%
saiditworked well
23%
saidit'sa big hassle
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed venlafaxineon 1/8/2020Was on 75mg XR for hot flashes, missed ONE dose and was bedbound for 3 days! Decided to wean down over months. Still can't get off of it, needing to take about 10 of the little round balls from within the capsule - otherwise brain/body zaps and can't focus.
    55
    Woman
    A year or so
    Hot flashes
  • Not sure
    Big hassle
    Reviewed venlafaxineon 11/30/2019Tried several medications but due to being younger and recently married I had issues with decreased libido, and still have anxiety problems. Started venlafaxine and noticed a change in mood pretty quickly. Unfortunately no one tells you about the crazy side effects and absolutely HORRIBLE withdrawals. If you even miss 1 dose. At this point I would rather have decreased libido on something else rather than having to worry about every going through a withdrawal from this.
    25
    Woman
    A year or so
    Depression
  • Not sure
    Some hassle
    Reviewed Effexor XRon 11/9/2019I felt the side affects right away when I missed a day. Very intense. The sweating and nightmares were difficult. It took a few days to feel better. I'm concerned about the withdrawals when missing a dose.
    57
    Woman
    A few months
    Anxiety
  • Not sure
    Big hassle
    Reviewed venlafaxineon 11/4/2019Always set an alarm in case you forget to take your pill (you will sleep 10x as long as you should)
    22
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Depression
  • Not sure
    Big hassle
    Reviewed venlafaxineon 11/3/2019I wish I knew more about the side effects
    57
    Man
    A few months
    Depression
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed venlafaxineon 10/21/2019I had nausea of and on for almost 2 weeks at 37.5 mg. Then I went up to 75mg. After months on 75mg I'm taking 150mg per day. I'm much happier,less angry all of the time, more patient and not crying everyday anymore. My daughter noticed the difference in me. I do sweat alot now and headaches occasionally but nothing to serious and I just upped my dose to the 150.mg 3 weeks ago so hopefully this will subside soon. I dont know where is be without effexor, (venlafaxine)
    34
    Woman
    A year or so
    Anxiety
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed Effexor XRon 10/19/2019Withdrawal symptoms of missed dose
    42
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Depression
  • Not worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed venlafaxineon 10/10/2019On the generic for a couple years. Missing a dose means days of recovery. Doc doubled the dose due to increase in depression, but halving the dose again is brutal, electric shock feeling, dizziness, agitation. I gained 30 lbs on this medication because it made food taste amazing.
    39
    Man
    Two years or more
    Anxiety
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed Effexor XRon 9/22/2019Find a time that it won't hugely affect your appetite
    18
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Anxiety