Elavil
Reviews

(amitriptyline)

3.3/ 5 average rating with 134 reviewsforElavil
Tried Elavil? Write a review!
134 
Select what matters most to you
Tried Elavil? Write a review!
134 reviews so far
 
53%
saidit'sworth it
36%
saiditworked well
25%
saidit'sa big hassle
  • Not worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed amitriptylineon 7/10/2021Think long and hard about committing to this drug.It worked well for me,but deciding withdraw from it after 30 years has been a nightmare . Off of it for 7 weeks BAD INSOMNIA.
    63
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Depression
  • Not worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed amitriptylineon 7/7/2021I decided to decrease to go totally off this medication after 30 years.The most I took was 40 mg. It took me 6 months to taper off.YOU WILL GO THROUGH HELL AS I DID.I have been off it for 7 weeks. SEVERE INSOMNIA as well as many other issues.This is a dangerous drug.Im going to try to hang on and get through this because the long term effects(possible dementia etc)are scary to me.I truly believe this medication is addictive.
    63
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Depression
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Elavilon 5/22/2021I just found it was really good for sleeping,if you have insomnia, work very well for that.
    64
    Man
    A year or so
    Insomnia
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed amitriptylineon 4/14/2021Take it well before bedtime or it'll be a bit harder to wake up and you'll want to sleep in. Other than that great! I use it mostly for migraines but also for sleep and it helps my depression a bit too! (I'm on a low dose atm but 25mg was perfect for me)
    19
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Would rather not say
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed amitriptylineon 3/18/2021Helps my depression, anxiety, ptsd and nerve pain
    37
    Man
    A couple weeks
    Pain
  • Not sure
    Big hassle
    Reviewed amitriptylineon 3/14/2021Started this for migraine prevention at 10mg. Worked decent. Started getting frequent pvc's after a year. Got upped to 25mg and started having severe presyncope spells. Went back down to 10mg and the presyncope spells disappeared. Pvc's got worse and added ventricular tachycardia on top. I hate pills. It also causes debilitating constipation, even at 10mg. At 25mg I honestly thought I was dying. Plus I went from 107lbs to 135lbs. But I'm super sensitive to medications.
    35
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Pain
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed amitriptylineon 3/12/2021Doctor insisted that I could not be allergic to Elavil--that few people are. So I restarted it--rash reappeared in 2 days.
    72
    Woman
    A month or so
    Pain
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Elavilon 3/2/2021They need to look at the hair loss
    51
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Depression
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed amitriptylineon 3/1/2021Don't take it until it's your bed time. It puts me to sleep within a hour. I just started using it 1 week ago and plan to stay on it as long as it continues to work after 1 month of taking it. Most medication I take for sleep quits working within a month
    35
    Woman
    A month or so
    Insomnia