Elavil
Reviews

(amitriptyline)

3.3/ 5 average rating with 134 reviewsforElavil
Tried Elavil? Write a review!
134 
Select what matters most to you
Tried Elavil? Write a review!
134 reviews so far
 
53%
saidit'sworth it
36%
saiditworked well
25%
saidit'sa big hassle
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed amitriptylineon 4/14/2021Take it well before bedtime or it'll be a bit harder to wake up and you'll want to sleep in. Other than that great! I use it mostly for migraines but also for sleep and it helps my depression a bit too! (I'm on a low dose atm but 25mg was perfect for me)
    19
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Would rather not say
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed amitriptylineon 3/18/2021Helps my depression, anxiety, ptsd and nerve pain
    37
    Man
    A couple weeks
    Pain
    • Not sure
      Big hassle
      Reviewed amitriptylineon 3/14/2021Started this for migraine prevention at 10mg. Worked decent. Started getting frequent pvc's after a year. Got upped to 25mg and started having severe presyncope spells. Went back down to 10mg and the presyncope spells disappeared. Pvc's got worse and added ventricular tachycardia on top. I hate pills. It also causes debilitating constipation, even at 10mg. At 25mg I honestly thought I was dying. Plus I went from 107lbs to 135lbs. But I'm super sensitive to medications.
      35
      Woman
      Two years or more
      Pain
      Worth it
      Low hassle
      Review Elavil and help someone like you today!
      Your age
      Your gender
      Your condition
      How long did you take it?
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed amitriptylineon 3/12/2021Doctor insisted that I could not be allergic to Elavil--that few people are. So I restarted it--rash reappeared in 2 days.
    72
    Woman
    A month or so
    Pain
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Elavilon 3/2/2021They need to look at the hair loss
    51
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Depression
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed amitriptylineon 3/1/2021Don't take it until it's your bed time. It puts me to sleep within a hour. I just started using it 1 week ago and plan to stay on it as long as it continues to work after 1 month of taking it. Most medication I take for sleep quits working within a month
    35
    Woman
    A month or so
    Insomnia
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed amitriptylineon 2/1/2021Without sleeping well, it will not help you at all
    22
    Man
    A few months
    Pain
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed amitriptylineon 1/31/2021Make sure to stay hydrated as well as keep your potassium and other nutrients up, it made my heart have palpitations when I was low on either
    18
    Man
    A few months
    Insomnia
  • Worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed amitriptylineon 12/28/2020Nope
    55
    Man
    A few months
    Depression
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed amitriptylineon 8/14/2020I've taken 50 mg a night for 15 years for neuropathic pain in my head, neck, and upper back. It eliminates the pain 100%. If I wasn't on amitriptyline I would be on disability because the pain is so severe. Interestingly I have to take a specific manufactured brand; I've tried other brands and they didn't work!
    62
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Pain