Focalin
Reviews

(dexmethylphenidate)

3.3/ 5 average rating with 141 reviewsforFocalin
Tried Focalin? Write a review!
141 
Select what matters most to you
Tried Focalin? Write a review!
141 reviews so far
 
55%
saidit'sworth it
35%
saiditworked well
21%
saidit'sa big hassle
  • Not sure
    Some hassle
    Reviewed dexmethylphenidateon 5/14/2019First time using it caused an extreme rise in heartrate. Eventually caused extreme irritability and anxiety, coupled with feeling like a robot. Didn’t notice much overall difference with my attention span
    18
    Woman
    A month or so
    ADHD
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed dexmethylphenidateon 3/17/2019Extended release is the best.
    25
    Woman
    A couple weeks
    ADHD
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Focalinon 2/22/2018If you start to feel anxious taking these meds I'd recommend consider changing pills if possible
    16
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Would rather not say
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed Focalinon 8/24/2017Start out on a lower dose than I did because now my tolerance is horrible. I started off on 30mg xr and 10mg ir
    20
    Man
    Two years or more
    ADHD
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed Focalinon 8/16/2017My dose is Focalin XR 25mg, I feel like it isn't as intense as Adderall or Concerta. I'm less jittery and I feel like it kicks and wears off smoother while still helping me focus. Noticeable difference between the name brand and generic. The generic is not as effective at all in my opinion, it's worth the insurance hassle to get the name brand. Focalin's website also offers a copay card, they will cover up to $50 of your copay, just print is and take it to the pharmacy.
    29
    Woman
    Two years or more
    ADHD
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed Focalinon 7/3/2017Take it early with big breakfast, take melatonin before bedtime.
    41
    Woman
    Two years or more
    ADHD
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed Focalinon 6/22/2017Small amounts (80-100mg) of caffeine makes Focalin last significantly longer for me, if taken within the first couple hours. If taken as it's wearing off (for me, it only seems to last ~8 hours) it acts as a mild "booster".
    24
    Woman
    Less than a week
    ADHD
  • Not sure
    Some hassle
    Reviewed FocalinI couldn't take it in the afternoon, because it would keep me up for 12-15 hours afterwards.
    19
    Woman
    A couple weeks
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed Focalinon 6/12/2017It helps you focus better however not always on the things you should be focusing on. I have a lot of moments where I go "oh, its been four hours and I haven't finished my school work because I've spent all that time reading about vampires in medieval folklore." Maybe it's good if you have someone that can check up on you and redirect your attention to more important things... Also I find myself talking a lot. MUCH more than I did in the past.
    15
    Woman
    A few months
    ADHD