Lamictal
Reviews

(Lamotrigine)

3.7/ 5 average rating with 184 reviewsforLamictal
Tried Lamictal? Write a review!
184 
Select what matters most to you
Tried Lamictal? Write a review!
184 reviews so far
 
66%
saidit'sworth it
58%
saiditworked well
18%
saidit'sa big hassle
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed Lamictalon 10/2/2019 Lamictal is the first drug to have any effect on my Epilepsy in 58 years. There are dose related side effects that one may have that can be managed at least in my case by lowering the dosage with the doctors permission. The generic didn't work in my case. Only the brand name was successful. Otherwise it's worked well for 9 years now.
    70
    Man
    Two years or more
    Seizures
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed lamotrigineon 9/6/2019The only bad side of this medication that I have found is how long it takes to get to a therapeutic dose.
    29
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Bipolar I disorder (manic)
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed lamotrigineon 7/9/2019Do not take this if at all possible!! It can be life threatening and for me I was hospitalized for 5 days with severe symptoms !! I’m on medical leave because of it!!
    34
    Man
    A month or so
    Seizures
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed lamotrigineon 7/8/2019I take it at night to avoid excessive sleepiness and/or dizziness. The side effects decreased over time. Dry mouth and nausea were the worst in the first month.
    49
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Migraine
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed lamotrigineon 5/17/2019As everyone else has shared, it takes a long time to get on to Lamotrigine in the first place but it really is worth the wait! This has had little to no side effects for me after I transitioned off Depakote (nightmare drug for me). I have been on the meds for 6 years, no problems. Not nearly as dangerous as SSRI's. Still don't want to skip a dose or I start to feel strange/ dizzy, but it's not dangerous to come off of like SSRI's. No artificial happiness, just stable moods.
    28
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Bipolar II disorder
  • Not sure
    Big hassle
    Reviewed lamotrigineon 5/7/2019I'm at my tenth week of this stuff at 250mg and I'm not even sure how much it has helped me. Sure, I'm not as depressed as I was when I started it, but I don't have as much energy or happiness as I expected, I just feel kind of flat right now. It hasn't been a "life-changer" for me as it has for many people. It might help people with extremely severe depression or bipolar disorder, but maybe it's not be for me. I'll update my progress if anything changes.
    18
    Woman
    A few months
    Treatment-resistant depression
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed lamotrigineon 4/12/2019I had no clue it could cause a dystonic reaction. I couldn’t speak from slurring and stuttering so hard and was rushed to the hospital. I also lost a lot of movement in my right hand. It should go away once it’s out of my system but it was terrifying.
    22
    Woman
    A few months
    Bipolar I disorder (manic)
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed lamotrigineon 4/11/2019Do your research before taking any drug
    59
    Woman
    A couple weeks
    Would rather not say
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed Lamictalon 4/8/2019This medicine saved my life; I’ve been on it 7 years completely stable.
    26
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Bipolar II disorder