Glucophage
Reviews

(metformin)

3.7/ 5 average rating with 938 reviewsformetformin
Tried metformin? Write a review!
938 
Select what matters most to you
Tried metformin? Write a review!
938 reviews so far
 
65%
saidit'sworth it
46%
saiditworked well
16%
saidit'sa big hassle
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed metforminon 5/13/2020I've tried for nearly 3 years to stay regular on metformin per drink orders, and every time I have the worst diarrhea and stomach cramping. It doesnt matter how long I take it for, I was on my dosage for a full year and it never let up.
    30
    Woman
    A year or so
    Type 2 diabetes
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Glucophage XRon 2/27/2020Switch to glumetza if you cannot tolerate glucophage - but watch out for the cost. If taking for PCOS - try Ovasitol. The cost of glumetza was so expensive, I looked for an alternative - Ovasitol worked for me. Regular periods, no side effects, easy to take, affordable.
    49
    Woman
    A year or so
    Polycystic ovary syndrome
  • Not sure
    Big hassle
    Reviewed metforminon 1/9/2020Metformin is a great drug. But the reason you lose weight, is because of the constant diarrhea! I've been on this drug for 6 months now and if I don't have Diarrhea every day then it's at least every other day! Gotta find something else that isn't as hard on the plumbing system. Makes it hard to work for 8 hours when yer running for the bathroom every 30 minutes!!!
    55
    Man
    A few months
    Type 2 diabetes
  • Not sure
    Big hassle
    Reviewed metforminon 12/9/2019I have to eat before taking the tablets and after thirty minutes have to eat again because it makes me hungry that's why I gained weight during that time.
    65
    Man
    A few months
    Type 2 diabetes
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed metforminon 11/24/2019It took awhile for me to understand the litany of miserable side effects were caused by the metformin. New Internist wants me OFF metformin ASAP. As time went by I had slowly added 1.5 hours to my morning routine just to be 51% sure my urgent bathroom visits were settled enough to drive to work.
    56
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Type 2 diabetes
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed metforminon 11/1/2019The diarrhea never stops. Ended up with diaper rash from going to the restroom up to 8 times a day. Miserable all the time.
    61
    Woman
    A few months
    Type 2 diabetes
  • Not sure
    Big hassle
    Reviewed metforminon 10/27/2019Nope
    55
    Man
    Just as needed
    Would rather not say
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed metforminon 9/25/2019Horrific uncontrollable diarrhea. Had to take even more over the counter medicine to offset regularly. HORRIFIC UNCONTROLLABLE DIARRHEA
    57
    Woman
    Would rather not say
    Type 2 diabetes
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed metforminon 9/24/2019in the beginning i had to take half a pill in the morning and half at night to ease my way onto it so i didnt get much discomfort. gradually going from 1 pill in the morning/1 at night to 2 each, I lost 70 lbs in about 4 months. I stopped because i dont like the thought of taking that many pills for the rest of my life
    22
    Woman
    A few months
    Polycystic ovary syndrome