Glucophage
Reviews

(metformin)

3.7/ 5 average rating with 938 reviewsformetformin
Tried metformin? Write a review!
938 
Select what matters most to you
Tried metformin? Write a review!
938 reviews so far
 
65%
saidit'sworth it
46%
saiditworked well
16%
saidit'sa big hassle
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed metforminon 11/24/2019It took awhile for me to understand the litany of miserable side effects were caused by the metformin. New Internist wants me OFF metformin ASAP. As time went by I had slowly added 1.5 hours to my morning routine just to be 51% sure my urgent bathroom visits were settled enough to drive to work.
    56
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Type 2 diabetes
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed metforminon 11/1/2019The diarrhea never stops. Ended up with diaper rash from going to the restroom up to 8 times a day. Miserable all the time.
    61
    Woman
    A few months
    Type 2 diabetes
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed metforminon 9/25/2019Horrific uncontrollable diarrhea. Had to take even more over the counter medicine to offset regularly. HORRIFIC UNCONTROLLABLE DIARRHEA
    57
    Woman
    Would rather not say
    Type 2 diabetes
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed metforminon 9/24/2019in the beginning i had to take half a pill in the morning and half at night to ease my way onto it so i didnt get much discomfort. gradually going from 1 pill in the morning/1 at night to 2 each, I lost 70 lbs in about 4 months. I stopped because i dont like the thought of taking that many pills for the rest of my life
    22
    Woman
    A few months
    Polycystic ovary syndrome
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed metforminon 9/10/2019Its just useless
    39
    Man
    Two years or more
    Type 2 diabetes
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed metforminon 7/3/2019I kept taking my self off of it for the past 4 years because of the side effect. I did lose weight but having to use the bathroom urgently was painful and a hassle.
    33
    Woman
    Not sure how long
    Polycystic ovary syndrome
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed metforminon 5/16/2019eat with a meal first
    64
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Type 2 diabetes
  • Not sure
    Big hassle
    Reviewed metforminon 5/8/2019Was advised to take Metformin ER 500mg in the AM, but had diarrhea all morning. Tried taking with lunch, but would have diarrhea/gas all afternoon. So switched to taking it at dinner. Then I'm up at 2-3am with diarrhea/gas. Really limiting my daytime activity. Had to take an anti-emetic to do a road trip and to fly on a plane. Can't do that every day. After a month, I thought it would stop. Now what do I do? Diet of very low sugar/carbs, mostly protein/veggies x 6 mos
    70
    Woman
    A month or so
    Type 2 diabetes
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed metforminon 4/1/2019How easy injectible insulin is.
    48
    Woman
    A month or so
    Type 2 diabetes