Pristiq
Reviews

(desvenlafaxine)

3.5/ 5 average rating with 196 reviewsforPristiq
Tried Pristiq? Write a review!
196 
Select what matters most to you
Tried Pristiq? Write a review!
196 reviews so far
 
53%
saidit'sworth it
49%
saiditworked well
23%
saidit'sa big hassle
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Pristiqon 11/30/2019This drug has a sedating effect on EVERYTHING. Sex drive, attention to simple daily tasks, more tired during the day than normal, all effected. Side effects of getting off of it are horrible. Dizzy spells, headaches, tingling arms and hands. Felt like a drug addict. Wish I never took it to begin with.
    45
    Man
    A year or so
    Depression
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed Pristiqon 11/2/2019First week was suicidal, 2nd was spaced out with giant pupils, numb, these subsided after a month or so and bam, harnessing energy, back to my old self, not over worrying - excessive use of alcohol will completely negate any positive effect. Skipping doses will give you bad side effects like brain zaps - worth it? Yes. I am close to my old self again.
    29
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Depression
    • Worth it
      Some hassle
      Reviewed Pristiqon 10/31/2019Worked great; lifted me out of depression when I started it 8 years ago. Took 1 pill (50mg) in the morning. It stopped working 4 years ago. My GP added mirtazapine (15mg) to take at night and the pairing worked beautifully. Pristiq is so difficult to wean from however. That is its weakness. Expensive too. My insurance company will no longer it. So I need to find something to take instead. I’ll see if my gp thinks wellbrutin is a good option.
      65
      Woman
      Two years or more
      Depression
      Worth it
      Low hassle
      Review Pristiq and help someone like you today!
      Your age
      Your gender
      Your condition
      How long did you take it?
  • Not worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed desvenlafaxineon 10/27/2019Made my depression worse. Anxiety to the point that the slightest thing could induce a panic attack. Worse part is I didn’t even realize how bad it was making me until I got off of it and switched to Wellbutrin.
    28
    Man
    A few months
    Depression
  • Not sure
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Pristiqon 9/24/2019I was switched from Remeron 5mg and Clonazepam 1.5mg daily to Ativan 3mg daily and Pristiq 50mg. So far emotional desert has happened, feel like crying a lot (I'm on day 5), anxiety, very sweaty, and at first, very depressed. I took it in the past for 6 years. I'm coming back on it as no other meds work on me. I'm hoping this alleviates my social anxiety and depression. If this doesnt work then in 2 weeks, Lyrica will be added, and the side effects of that sounds horrible.
    46
    Man
    A year or so
    Depression
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Pristiqon 9/20/2019Pristiq is godsend. I could feel it working after 2 weeks, it was incredible. I was no longer obsessing over worries, feeling like I had to drag myself everywhere - suddenly i was back to my to-do lists, my workouts, work deliverables. It gave me my life back.
    43
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Depression
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Pristiqon 8/23/2019My latest insurance plan would not cover most of the price of the brand name medication because there is technically a generic version, but taking that did not work nearly as well for me. My insurance would only cover the cost of the generic. My doctor and I appealed for an exception to be made with no response from insurance. I did not meet qualifications for Pfizer's (the distributor) financial aid, so the cost was nearly impossible to manage.
    28
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Depression
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Pristiqon 8/21/2019If you have not had success with other med, It sure has helped me!
    76
    Man
    A few months
    Depression
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed desvenlafaxineon 8/17/2019Took Pristiq for many years - first the brand, then the generic. Recently tried Cymbalta (also a SSRINRI) for a couple months but am going back to try Pristiq again, as Cymbalta was so sedating I could hardly function. It also caused me to have intense hunger cravings. I stopped Pristiq as it made me extremely irritable and combative. I think I would rather be angry than unable to function. I have tried many, SSRI's and Pristiq is the best drug with fewest side effects
    70
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Depression
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Pristiqon 7/30/2019No one tells you how hard it is to withdraw from this, if I missed a dose by a few hours I’d vomit and if I missed a day and took it again I’d vomit. No sleep. Anxiety and feeling like you’re on a different planet.
    24
    Woman
    A year or so
    Depression