Topamax
Reviews

(topiramate)

3.3/ 5 average rating with 56 reviewsforTopamax
Tried Topamax? Write a review!
56 
Select what matters most to you
Tried Topamax? Write a review!
56 reviews so far
 
52%
saidit'sworth it
50%
saiditworked well
36%
saidit'sa big hassle
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed topiramateon 11/4/2019Had 2 surgical procedures on kidney stones from using this drug.
    44
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Migraine prevention
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed topiramateon 11/1/2019In the beginning, I had difficulty finding words. It did feel like "dopamax". But I stayed with it and the side effects went away. My Migraines diminished from 3 a week to 1 maybe every 4 months. I even lost weight on it. I took it at night and found that it helped me to sleep.
    64
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Migraine prevention
  • Not worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed Trokendi XRon 10/2/2019Lost a lot of weight but lost a lot of hair also. Looked like I was in chemotherapy!
    45
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Seizures
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed Trokendi XRon 9/6/2019I would have 15-20 severe migraines a month, some lasting days before I was put on this med. Now if I get one it’s a dull ache instead of the crippling pain and nausea I had before. I maybe get 2-3 migraines a month now. This med is a lifesaver.
    29
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Migraine prevention
  • Not sure
    Some hassle
    Reviewed Topamaxon 7/7/2019i started taking this 25mg twice per day a year ago and have had blurry vision, chest pains, upper back and neck pain. I have had MRI's done and nothing shows up.. all the blood work came back ok. started doing research on this medicine and come to find out this may be a side effect of this medicine... I have also developed heartburn and GERD .. not sure if this is also related. IF anyone else has similar issues please share.
    43
    Woman
    A year or so
    Migraine prevention
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed topiramateon 5/19/2019I couldnt put in the reason i am taking it because it wasnt listed.The reason is for nerve pain due to back issues. It does seem to help a bit and is def better than Lyrica or galapenten. But we shall see long term as i have only been taking it about a month.
    59
    Woman
    A month or so
    Essential tremors
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Topamaxon 4/20/2019Hair loss is very common! So stop this drug as soon as you notice it. I'm still losing hair after stopping two weeks ago.
    53
    Woman
    A month or so
    Migraine prevention
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed topiramateon 4/11/2019Prescribed it post detox for alcoholism to take at night. This is powerful stuff even with half a tablet. Had a similar effect to ambien.
    33
    Less than a week
    Alcoholism
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed topiramateon 3/10/2019I was prescribed this after another medication caused severe weight gain. I've been dealing with depression/anxiety for years, and topiramate exacerbated by symptoms. And now I want to break away, but quitting cold turkey can cause severe seizures (even if you have a high seizure threshold). Just be careful, and stay away if you have anxiety or depression.
    24
    Woman
    A few months
    Eating disorder