Topamax
Reviews

(topiramate)

3.3/ 5 average rating with 56 reviewsforTopamax
Tried Topamax? Write a review!
56 
Select what matters most to you
Tried Topamax? Write a review!
56 reviews so far
 
52%
saidit'sworth it
50%
saiditworked well
36%
saidit'sa big hassle
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed topiramateon 9/8/2020Just don't. I forgot how to do things I'd known how to do my entire life. I forgot how to tie my shoes!!!! Worst medication ever, it was like I had lost 20 iq points. My eyesight went from perfect to needing strong reading glasses in 2 years. When I stopped taking it my eyesight recovered in a few months. It's shocking that this medicine is even allowed to be sold with how many side effects it has. Don't take it. It's not worth it.
    23
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Migraine prevention
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed topiramateon 8/19/2020If your losing hair or your scalp burns, itch’s with Topamax drugs, use a little Coconut oil, fresh ground Ginger or Rosemary, in your hair. Let it sit for 2 hrs. or longer and then wash out as normal. You can blend them in a blender.
    56
    Woman
    A year or so
    Migraine prevention
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed topiramateon 8/18/2020I have had migraines for years, probably 25+, and I honestly thought I didn’t have much choice but to live with carrying ibuprofen around. My doctor offered me different meds. I chose topamax because it is known to make soda taste awful and I was a huge pop addict. I wanted to quit and after a week on the med, I did. Almost vomited my Dr. Pepper up. Saved my life, honestly
    46
    Woman
    A few months
    Migraine prevention
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Topamaxon 7/26/2020Do not EVER allow a doctor to base your exper. on a drug w/all of his/her other patients! No two people are made exactly the same, even identical twins! I seriously had just about every side effect on the drug manufacturer's information insert. It was a horrible experience. Topamax made me so sick that I couldn't keep any food inside me. She only wanted to add a prescription for nausea! For mos, I begged to be taken off it, then insisted! She finally did & I found a new dr.!
    61
    Woman
    A year or so
    Seizures
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Topamaxon 7/4/2020This drug caused me to have several panic attacks and anxiety. Awful stomach pains and occasional breast pain. Felt like my mind was lagging a bit behind, often forgot words or small details. Coordination was off big time. Can also decrease the effectiveness of OC birth control, so use secondary birth control methods.
    23
    Woman
    A few months
    Migraine prevention
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed topiramateon 6/16/2020This drug caused diarrhea, confusion, bradycardia, tinnitus, GERD, decreased urinary output, and general malaise the entire time I was on it. It was not worth the time and/or effort. I am still recovering after one week washing out from the medication.
    71
    Man
    A few months
    Would rather not say
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed topiramateon 4/14/2020I've lost about 15 pounds in a few months on Topamax. The drowsiness is worst when you first start taking it or increase the dose and seems to go away after a week or two. Since taking it I sometimes have trouble remembering certain words which can be inconvenient but isn't the worst thing ever. I seem to cry more on this medicine as well, I think. All in all, I'm fairly satisfied with it because it's helping my binge eating and bringing my weight down.
    26
    Woman
    A few months
    Eating disorder
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed topiramateon 2/15/2020Control your urine and blood. I had kidney stones attacks every 6 months before doctors figure out what causes problem.
    46
    Man
    Two years or more
    Migraine prevention
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed topiramateon 1/17/2020A doctor prescribed this to help with eating disorder and weight loss. I almost died. Avoid like the plague!
    35
    Man
    Less than a week
    Eating disorder