Topamax
Reviews

(topiramate)

3.3/ 5 average rating with 56 reviewsforTopamax
Tried Topamax? Write a review!
56 
Select what matters most to you
Tried Topamax? Write a review!
56 reviews so far
 
52%
saidit'sworth it
50%
saiditworked well
36%
saidit'sa big hassle
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed topiramateon 5/19/2019I couldnt put in the reason i am taking it because it wasnt listed.The reason is for nerve pain due to back issues. It does seem to help a bit and is def better than Lyrica or galapenten. But we shall see long term as i have only been taking it about a month.
    59
    Woman
    A month or so
    Essential tremors
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Topamaxon 4/20/2019Hair loss is very common! So stop this drug as soon as you notice it. I'm still losing hair after stopping two weeks ago.
    53
    Woman
    A month or so
    Migraine prevention
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed topiramateon 3/10/2019I was prescribed this after another medication caused severe weight gain. I've been dealing with depression/anxiety for years, and topiramate exacerbated by symptoms. And now I want to break away, but quitting cold turkey can cause severe seizures (even if you have a high seizure threshold). Just be careful, and stay away if you have anxiety or depression.
    24
    Woman
    A few months
    Eating disorder
  • Worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Topamaxon 3/9/2019Took a long time to find cause of severe intermittent double vision online. Happened especially after extreme exercise or exhaustion. Confirmed it by weaning off Topamax. It and the eye twitch disappeared.
    72
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Migraine prevention
  • Not worth it
    Reviewed Topamaxon 3/6/2018Do NOT take this long term, I was on it for migraines for 10 years. My liver was seriously compromised.
    50
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Would rather not say
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed topiramateon 2/10/2018Prescribed for chronic nerve pain. Found it very ineffective. Choked me when I tried to talk. Made everything taste like ear wax, made me nauseated all the time and did nothing at all for the pain.
    46
    Woman
    A couple weeks
    Would rather not say
  • Worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Topamaxon 10/14/2017 I live in Mexico and actually take Pregablin, but supposedly it's the same as Topamax. After suffering with migraines 1-2x per week since age 7, which increased to 6-7x per week at age 60, I've had no migraines for 2 years. It was prescribed along with Sertraline, an antidepressant. The initial adjustment was very hard due to the side effects, but fine after 2 weeks. Migraines abated gradually over 3 months.
    66
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Migraine prevention
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Topamaxon 9/20/2017Made me a little depressed the first few days but after that nothing and DEFINITELY WORTH IT. Went from 3-4 migraines/wk to next to none and my hands stopped shaking entirely! The pills are a pain to cut even with a pill cutter so be careful.
    24
    Woman
    A month or so
    Essential tremor
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Topamaxon 8/27/2017Wish I had known this drug will rob you of the common sense to function in the normal world side effects outweigh the benefits of it . It will make a normal person stupid
    52
    Man
    A year or so
    Seizures