Topamax
Reviews

(topiramate)

3.3/ 5 average rating with 56 reviewsforTopamax
Tried Topamax? Write a review!
56 
Select what matters most to you
Tried Topamax? Write a review!
56 reviews so far
 
52%
saidit'sworth it
50%
saiditworked well
36%
saidit'sa big hassle
  • Not worth it
    Reviewed Topamaxon 3/6/2018Do NOT take this long term, I was on it for migraines for 10 years. My liver was seriously compromised.
    50
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Would rather not say
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed topiramateon 2/10/2018Prescribed for chronic nerve pain. Found it very ineffective. Choked me when I tried to talk. Made everything taste like ear wax, made me nauseated all the time and did nothing at all for the pain.
    46
    Woman
    A couple weeks
    Would rather not say
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Topamaxon 9/20/2017Made me a little depressed the first few days but after that nothing and DEFINITELY WORTH IT. Went from 3-4 migraines/wk to next to none and my hands stopped shaking entirely! The pills are a pain to cut even with a pill cutter so be careful.
    24
    Woman
    A month or so
    Essential tremor
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Topamaxon 8/27/2017Wish I had known this drug will rob you of the common sense to function in the normal world side effects outweigh the benefits of it . It will make a normal person stupid
    52
    Man
    A year or so
    Seizures
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Topamaxon 8/25/2017I have a cognitively demanding profession, and Topiramate really interfered with my ability to think complexly, so it did not work for me.
    25
    Woman
    A month or so
    Migraine prevention
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Topamaxon 8/6/2017Drink Water
    15
    Man
    Two years or more
    Seizures
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Topamaxon 8/3/2017Migraine was so devastating over the years, that I was close to the very bad thoughts... It was every week, 3-4 days per week. And the doctors could not understand that it was a migraine, because I was in a bad condition almost all of the time for years. If you have a a bad migraine-give a chance to Topimax! It worth it!
    43
    Woman
    A year or so
    Migraine prevention
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Topamaxon 7/8/2017I felt like a zombie for the first two weeks. It helped a TINY bit with post-TBI headache. Ultimately I had to stop because it made my mood very low- I became desperately depressed. I didn't lose any weight- but I also needed to start mirtazapine for depression soon after I began taking it. Mirtazapine causes weight gain- so I think this medication helped me avoid that. BUT- as soon as I stopped this med I gained 30 pounds in 6 WEEKS from the mirtazapine!
    49
    Woman
    A few months
    Cluster headache prevention
  • Not sure
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Topamaxon 7/4/2017After a few years on this drug, I started taking antidepressants. Wasn't aware that is was Topiramat making me depressed and anxious. Have been on antidepressants for 8 or 9 years now, have gained weight back (too much), and my mood is much better. Dunno what to do, because Topiramat works so good for my epilepsy (have been through quite a few neuroleptica).
    46
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Seizures