Topamax
Reviews

(topiramate)

3.3/ 5 average rating with 56 reviewsforTopamax
Tried Topamax? Write a review!
56 
Select what matters most to you
Tried Topamax? Write a review!
56 reviews so far
 
52%
saidit'sworth it
50%
saiditworked well
36%
saidit'sa big hassle
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed Trokendi XRon 9/6/2019I would have 15-20 severe migraines a month, some lasting days before I was put on this med. Now if I get one it’s a dull ache instead of the crippling pain and nausea I had before. I maybe get 2-3 migraines a month now. This med is a lifesaver.
    29
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Migraine prevention
  • Not sure
    Some hassle
    Reviewed Topamaxon 7/7/2019i started taking this 25mg twice per day a year ago and have had blurry vision, chest pains, upper back and neck pain. I have had MRI's done and nothing shows up.. all the blood work came back ok. started doing research on this medicine and come to find out this may be a side effect of this medicine... I have also developed heartburn and GERD .. not sure if this is also related. IF anyone else has similar issues please share.
    43
    Woman
    A year or so
    Migraine prevention
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Topamaxon 4/20/2019Hair loss is very common! So stop this drug as soon as you notice it. I'm still losing hair after stopping two weeks ago.
    53
    Woman
    A month or so
    Migraine prevention
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed topiramateon 4/11/2019Prescribed it post detox for alcoholism to take at night. This is powerful stuff even with half a tablet. Had a similar effect to ambien.
    33
    Less than a week
    Alcoholism
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed topiramateon 3/10/2019I was prescribed this after another medication caused severe weight gain. I've been dealing with depression/anxiety for years, and topiramate exacerbated by symptoms. And now I want to break away, but quitting cold turkey can cause severe seizures (even if you have a high seizure threshold). Just be careful, and stay away if you have anxiety or depression.
    24
    Woman
    A few months
    Eating disorder
  • Worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Topamaxon 3/9/2019Took a long time to find cause of severe intermittent double vision online. Happened especially after extreme exercise or exhaustion. Confirmed it by weaning off Topamax. It and the eye twitch disappeared.
    72
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Migraine prevention
  • Not worth it
    Reviewed Topamaxon 3/6/2018Do NOT take this long term, I was on it for migraines for 10 years. My liver was seriously compromised.
    50
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Would rather not say
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed topiramateon 2/10/2018Prescribed for chronic nerve pain. Found it very ineffective. Choked me when I tried to talk. Made everything taste like ear wax, made me nauseated all the time and did nothing at all for the pain.
    46
    Woman
    A couple weeks
    Would rather not say
  • Worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Topamaxon 10/14/2017 I live in Mexico and actually take Pregablin, but supposedly it's the same as Topamax. After suffering with migraines 1-2x per week since age 7, which increased to 6-7x per week at age 60, I've had no migraines for 2 years. It was prescribed along with Sertraline, an antidepressant. The initial adjustment was very hard due to the side effects, but fine after 2 weeks. Migraines abated gradually over 3 months.
    66
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Migraine prevention