Implant
Reviews

Std Protection?
No
Failure rate
Covered by insurance?
Yes
Typical cost range
4.1/ 5 average rating with 78 reviewsforImplant
Back to: Full Site Navigation
Tried Implant? Write a review!
78 
Select what matters most to you
Tried Implant? Write a review!
78 reviews so far
 
64%
saidit'sworth it
69%
saiditworked well
21%
saidit'sa big hassle
  • Not sure
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Nexplanonon 8/31/2017Make sure it some amazing pipe because the heavy bleeding, the brutal spotting, the inability to lose weight but gain easy, and overall not as juicy lucy down there and the brutal pain of a migrating implant...for all this...that pipe BEST BE WORTH IT.
    21
    Woman
    Two years or more
  • Worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Nexplanonon 4/20/2017I've had my period for 7 months now...
    19
    Woman
    A few months
    Pregnancy prevention
    • Not sure
      Some hassle
      Reviewed Nexplanonon 3/31/2017I've only had the implant for about 7 months. The procedure was not as bad as expected. The first couple months that were great, barely any period, but the four months that following were terrible. Heavy cramping and bleeding. Period and spotting lasting nearly the whole month, I'd get maybe a week of no bleeding. It has evened out a bit now, at month 7, but I still have spotting or blood during sex. Because of this I feel my sex life with my boyfriend has changed as it is me
      26
      Woman
      A few months
      Pregnancy prevention
      Worth it
      Low hassle
      Review Implant and help someone like you today!
      Your age
      Your gender
      Your condition
      How long did you take it?
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Implanton 1/30/2017I am very sensitive to progesterone and it affects my mood and how present with my body I feel. This made me feel numb and depressed.
    37
    Woman
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed Nexplanonon 1/29/2017Insert during period!
    31
    Woman
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Nexplanonon 1/28/2017The insertion procedure was so fast--under 10 seconds (after local anesthetic kicked in). Only had to pay my co-pay ($30). After the first few weeks of irregularity, I have had about two light periods a year, although you never know when they will start. I have been on antidepressants for years and haven't noticed any mood difference with nexplanon. I'm due for a replacement this year and will definitely have a new implant inserted when the current one is removed.
    33
    Woman
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Implanton 1/28/2017The only downside is that the incision point takes a bit to heal - it's sore for a couple more days but there were no complications in healing. All I'm left with is a small very undetectable bump where the incision was. First 3 or 4 months I had my period (significantly lighter) and no cramps. After those couple months, I haven't had my period since. I've been on the implant for the past year. No other side effects for me.
    20
    Woman
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Nexplanonon 1/28/2017The skill of the person inserting it matters. I have had someone who does lots of them - no bruising or issues. Others have had less good outcomes when dealing with less experienced health care professionals.
    29
    Woman
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed Nexplanonon 1/27/2017I was informed that my periods would probably stop while the implant was working, which is amazing and great for someone like me with endometriosis. I was not informed, however, that I might have near-constant periods in the month or two leading up to the periods stopping. Keep an ace bandage around the insertion point for the first couple weeks (except while bathing) and it'll help make the healing process less painful.
    37
    Woman
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Nexplanonon 1/24/2017Be prepared for bruising, and to take a few days off from the gym to let it heal up. There's also the mental aspect: it takes some getting used to knowing you have a small bar in your arm!
    30
    Woman
    Pregnancy prevention