Implant
Reviews

Std Protection?
No
Failure rate
Covered by insurance?
Yes
Typical cost range
4.1/ 5 average rating with 78 reviewsforImplant
Back to: Full Site Navigation
Tried Implant? Write a review!
78 
Select what matters most to you
Tried Implant? Write a review!
78 reviews so far
 
64%
saidit'sworth it
69%
saiditworked well
21%
saidit'sa big hassle
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Nexplanonon 11/13/2020Planned Parenthood provided me with the implant, so I didn't need to sit with my doctor to discuss it. Also, you will be wearing a bandage for like a week and may be sore for a little while as your arm heals.
    27
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Not sure
    Some hassle
    Reviewed Nexplanonon 8/24/2020I could feel the "bar" poking me/shifting. I'm not a big fan of it. There's nothing that bad, just that I think it's subtlety affecting my body/mood too much.I've tried IUD's, the pill, this implant, obviously condoms...none are that great for my personal health concerns.
    24
    Woman
    A few months
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Nexplanonon 1/29/2020insertion was easy, pain at insertion site for first few months....been bleeding for 6 months...
    19
    Woman
    A year or so
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Not sure
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Nexplanonon 8/31/2017Make sure it some amazing pipe because the heavy bleeding, the brutal spotting, the inability to lose weight but gain easy, and overall not as juicy lucy down there and the brutal pain of a migrating implant...for all this...that pipe BEST BE WORTH IT.
    21
    Woman
    Two years or more
  • Worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Nexplanonon 4/20/2017I've had my period for 7 months now...
    19
    Woman
    A few months
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Not sure
    Some hassle
    Reviewed Nexplanonon 3/31/2017I've only had the implant for about 7 months. The procedure was not as bad as expected. The first couple months that were great, barely any period, but the four months that following were terrible. Heavy cramping and bleeding. Period and spotting lasting nearly the whole month, I'd get maybe a week of no bleeding. It has evened out a bit now, at month 7, but I still have spotting or blood during sex. Because of this I feel my sex life with my boyfriend has changed as it is me
    26
    Woman
    A few months
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Implanton 1/30/2017I am very sensitive to progesterone and it affects my mood and how present with my body I feel. This made me feel numb and depressed.
    37
    Woman
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed Nexplanonon 1/29/2017Insert during period!
    31
    Woman
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Nexplanonon 1/28/2017The insertion procedure was so fast--under 10 seconds (after local anesthetic kicked in). Only had to pay my co-pay ($30). After the first few weeks of irregularity, I have had about two light periods a year, although you never know when they will start. I have been on antidepressants for years and haven't noticed any mood difference with nexplanon. I'm due for a replacement this year and will definitely have a new implant inserted when the current one is removed.
    33
    Woman
    Pregnancy prevention