IUD
Reviews

Std Protection?
No
Failure rate
Covered by insurance?
Yes
Typical cost range
4.3/ 5 average rating with 1010 reviewsforIUD
Back to: Full Site Navigation
Tried IUD? Write a review!
1010 
Select what matters most to you
Tried IUD? Write a review!
1010 reviews so far
 
79%
saidit'sworth it
73%
saiditworked well
12%
saidit'sa big hassle
  • Worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Paragardon 3/19/2019Definitely take painkiller (I took two Advils) before insertion. It's not great (they had to dilate my cervix) but it is short and the rest of the day isn't worse than particularly bad period cramps. I stuck Paragard out for 8 months because I didn't want to deal with mood changes from hormones, but it increased my period flow at least 3x which became unmanageable (still extremely heavy at 8 months) and spotting days were also doubled.
    22
    Woman
    A year or so
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Mirenaon 2/8/2018Stick it out - the Mirena is the best invention ever
    35
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Lilettaon 8/8/2017Really wasn't as bad as people made it seem. It was easy being though I just had a baby. Insertion didn't hurt at all. No cramps spotting for the first two days and then my menstrual was two weeks after that my menstrual is now gone.
    26
    Woman
    A couple weeks
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Mirenaon 6/2/2017Insertion can be painful, bring someone to support you or consider taking a light pain reducer. Also, be sure to periodically check for string. It can be hard to reach, so sometimes you have to get creative. Otherwise, this has completely changed my sex life for the better. Make sure you still take precautions to prevent STD's.
    26
    Woman
    Two years or more
  • Worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Skylaon 5/14/2017The insertion process was difficult. My cervix wouldn't open enough and I had to schedule a second attempt. They prescribed stronger meds the second time to open the cervix more. It was incredibly painful but only lasted a few minutes. I've had no complications since insertion. It does cause ovarian cysts for me, which makes for an uncomfortable day here and there. Overall it is worth it! I love not having to worry about birth control.
    29
    Woman
    Two years or more
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Paragardon 5/1/2017The cramps are pretty bad but it beats unexpected pregnancies. I've had mine for 3 years now.
    25
    Woman
    Two years or more
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Mirenaon 4/19/2017Insertion moderately painful but over very quickly (<5min) and didn't hurt after the procedure at all. Removal was like pulling off a bandaid - yeowch! But only for a second. (Removed to try for a pregnancy.) Irregular bleeding for a few months that was light- then no periods, yay! I can't use most hormonal contraceptive because of other health problems I have but this was safe and effective. I would definitely do it again.
    34
    Woman
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Mirenaon 4/19/2017After light spotting for the first few months, I have had no periods for years!
    41
    Woman
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Mirenaon 4/9/2017It's really awesome. No possibility of human error, and you don't have to think about it. It also mostly got rid of my periods! only have them very infrequently. I've had it for 3 years, would normally have a light flow, and now I've only gotten my period about 10 times while on Mirena - and it's not nearly as bad.
    25
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Pregnancy prevention