IUD
Reviews

Std Protection?
No
Failure rate
Covered by insurance?
Yes
Typical cost range
4.3/ 5 average rating with 1010 reviewsforIUD
Back to: Full Site Navigation
Tried IUD? Write a review!
1010 
Select what matters most to you
Tried IUD? Write a review!
1010 reviews so far
 
79%
saidit'sworth it
73%
saiditworked well
12%
saidit'sa big hassle
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Mirenaon 6/11/2019You still pls, you'll probably spot a bit here or there. Plus my chin broke out in bad acne due to hormones... But overall it didnt make me gain weight, or give me any "180-degrees" types of behavioral changes.
    24
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Lilettaon 5/28/2019I had significant spotting with the IUD for longer than 6 months. It turned out I had a fibroid. Now that has been removed and I love the IUD. Don't hesitate to get a follow up appointment if bleeding lasts too long!
    46
    Woman
    A year or so
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed Skylaon 5/8/2019Make sure you take some type of painkiller before getting the IUD inserted. I didn't know and they gave me two Advils. A good doctor can insert your IUD even if you're not on your period, it doesn't hurt to ask how many they've done. I do still spot and have periods for about 1 or 2 days. Nothing I can't handle.
    26
    Woman
    A year or so
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Paragardon 3/19/2019Definitely take painkiller (I took two Advils) before insertion. It's not great (they had to dilate my cervix) but it is short and the rest of the day isn't worse than particularly bad period cramps. I stuck Paragard out for 8 months because I didn't want to deal with mood changes from hormones, but it increased my period flow at least 3x which became unmanageable (still extremely heavy at 8 months) and spotting days were also doubled.
    22
    Woman
    A year or so
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Mirenaon 2/8/2018Stick it out - the Mirena is the best invention ever
    35
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Paragardon 10/16/2017Paraguard is awesome. No hormones. And truthfully it has made my sex drive skyrocket. I know that's kind of weird but it did something down there.. Oh maybe it was just my man but I think it helped somehow. Sorry if this is too much information. Love my paraguard!!
    37
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Lilettaon 8/8/2017Really wasn't as bad as people made it seem. It was easy being though I just had a baby. Insertion didn't hurt at all. No cramps spotting for the first two days and then my menstrual was two weeks after that my menstrual is now gone.
    26
    Woman
    A couple weeks
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Mirenaon 6/2/2017Insertion can be painful, bring someone to support you or consider taking a light pain reducer. Also, be sure to periodically check for string. It can be hard to reach, so sometimes you have to get creative. Otherwise, this has completely changed my sex life for the better. Make sure you still take precautions to prevent STD's.
    26
    Woman
    Two years or more
  • Worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Skylaon 5/14/2017The insertion process was difficult. My cervix wouldn't open enough and I had to schedule a second attempt. They prescribed stronger meds the second time to open the cervix more. It was incredibly painful but only lasted a few minutes. I've had no complications since insertion. It does cause ovarian cysts for me, which makes for an uncomfortable day here and there. Overall it is worth it! I love not having to worry about birth control.
    29
    Woman
    Two years or more