IUD
Reviews

Std Protection?
No
Failure rate
Covered by insurance?
Yes
Typical cost range
4.3/ 5 average rating with 1010 reviewsforIUD
Back to: Full Site Navigation
Tried IUD? Write a review!
1010 
Select what matters most to you
Tried IUD? Write a review!
1010 reviews so far
 
79%
saidit'sworth it
73%
saiditworked well
12%
saidit'sa big hassle
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Lilettaon 5/20/2021I lost 8% of my body weight due to frequent and severe cramping / bloating and digestive issues. I had cramps daily for the first 3 months with lessened but continued cramps both while on and off my period for over a year. My period lengthened from 4-5 days to 10+ days with spotting and constant discharge. Very low libido after 3 months of use.
    28
    Woman
    A year or so
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed Skylaon 12/15/2020My cramps got exponentially worse for the first 3-4 months but after it was normal, stick it out!! It’ll be just fine after it gets used to your body.
    20
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Pregnancy prevention
    • Not sure
      Some hassle
      Reviewed otheron 10/17/2020Insertion was literally the most painful experience I've ever had, and I've had some other painful medical issues like a kidney stone. Had to get it removed 2 years because obecauseth of cramping pain that didn't have any other apparent cause even though it was in the right place. Pain went away after getting it removed. Removal was uncomfortable but not bad. Actually having it was nice except for mood swings and pretty much constant spotting and acne for the first few months.
      23
      Woman
      Two years or more
      Pregnancy prevention
      Worth it
      Low hassle
      Review IUD and help someone like you today!
      Your age
      Your gender
      Your condition
      How long did you take it?
  • Not worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Mirenaon 9/27/2020Gave me very severe bleeding, up to 400 of blood loss per cycle, which led to anemia. Also exacerbated my depression, leading to a huge increase in suicidal ideation, and gave me migraines. I switched to fertility awareness and have been very happy with it.
    26
    Woman
    A few months
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Mirenaon 6/11/2019You still pls, you'll probably spot a bit here or there. Plus my chin broke out in bad acne due to hormones... But overall it didnt make me gain weight, or give me any "180-degrees" types of behavioral changes.
    24
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Lilettaon 5/28/2019I had significant spotting with the IUD for longer than 6 months. It turned out I had a fibroid. Now that has been removed and I love the IUD. Don't hesitate to get a follow up appointment if bleeding lasts too long!
    46
    Woman
    A year or so
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed Skylaon 5/9/2019I would definitely recommend taking some type of pain killer an hour before going into your appointment. A good doctor should be able to insert your IUD with or without your period. (It doesn't hurt to ask them how many they've inserted/taken out). The first week will be uncomfortable but once you get past that, it's great.
    26
    Woman
    A year or so
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed Skylaon 5/8/2019Make sure you take some type of painkiller before getting the IUD inserted. I didn't know and they gave me two Advils. A good doctor can insert your IUD even if you're not on your period, it doesn't hurt to ask how many they've done. I do still spot and have periods for about 1 or 2 days. Nothing I can't handle.
    26
    Woman
    A year or so
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Worth it
    Big hassle
    Reviewed Paragardon 3/19/2019Definitely take painkiller (I took two Advils) before insertion. It's not great (they had to dilate my cervix) but it is short and the rest of the day isn't worse than particularly bad period cramps. I stuck Paragard out for 8 months because I didn't want to deal with mood changes from hormones, but it increased my period flow at least 3x which became unmanageable (still extremely heavy at 8 months) and spotting days were also doubled.
    22
    Woman
    A year or so
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Mirenaon 2/8/2018Stick it out - the Mirena is the best invention ever
    35
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Pregnancy prevention