The Pill
Reviews

Std Protection?
No
Failure rate
Covered by insurance?
Yes
Typical cost range
4.2/ 5 average rating with 2896 reviewsforPill
Back to: Full Site Navigation
Tried The Pill? Write a review!
2896 
Select what matters most to you
Tried The Pill? Write a review!
2896 reviews so far
 
79%
saidit'sworth it
67%
saiditworked well
14%
saidit'sa big hassle
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed Sprintecon 5/7/2019I only took this pill for a year and it caused me to gain almost 40 lbs. I was always hungry on it! But besides the weight gain I had no other side effects. Sex drive was normal for me and it did it’s job.
    19
    Woman
    A year or so
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Jolessaon 4/1/2019I don't think I could ever go back to having a period every month after being on extended birth control (Jolessa) for the past few years & it didn't cause weight gain or any negative side effects. I personally love my birth control.
    27
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Pregnancy prevention
    • Worth it
      Low hassle
      Reviewed Pillon 9/1/2017Been on Blisovi Fe for almost a year now--if you're an organized person like me and can set an alarm at the same time every day, it's not too much hassle. I've never missed a pill and thus never had a problem. I also switched to a recurrent treatment several months ago (i.e. only take inactive pills once every 3 months and thus only have 4 periods a year) and I love it. There was spotting/irregular bleeding for the first month or two of switching methods but worth it.
      20
      Woman
      A year or so
      Worth it
      Low hassle
      Review The Pill and help someone like you today!
      Your age
      Your gender
      Your condition
      How long did you take it?
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed Ortho-Cyclenon 7/28/2017For whatever reason I got a serious case of the munchies from this brand (Ortho Tri-cyclen). I recently switched to another type of pill (Camrese, one of the period-once-every-three-months), but the peace of mind that comes from lighter periods, PMDD, and not having to worry about getting pregnant make the side effects easily a minor gripe.
    22
    A year or so
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Yasminon 4/5/2017an absolute life-saver! Reduces my severe pre-menstrual mood symptoms, and I'm not in agonising pain every month either - the withdrawal bleeds are a bit painful but nothing compared to the cramps I got on my period. And on top of that, it reduces the amount of cystic acne I get!
    30
    Woman
    Two years or more
    Regulates period
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Gildess FE 1/20on 2/3/2017Did not notice any adverse effects. Over the few years I have taken it, my period has become so light that I only use tampons while working out or traveling "just-in-case," because I usually don't need anything.
    26
    Woman
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Heatheron 1/29/2017My period stopped! Checked with my doctor and this is common and fine. I'm so happy not to have to deal with that!
    24
    Woman
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed Aprion 1/28/2017It seems minor, but you have to take it everyday which can be difficult to remember for some people. Side effect - hair and skin improved.
    27
    Woman
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Worth it
    Some hassle
    Reviewed Pillon 10/14/2016Like other pill forms, remembering to take it at the same time everyday can be quite a hassle, but setting an alarm makes it slightly easier. This pill is very low hormone and was one of the only methods I've tried that did not cause me to be depressed or suicidal.
    26
    Woman
    Pregnancy prevention
  • Worth it
    Low hassle
    Reviewed Pillon 10/5/2016I'm using it without the inert week - no more periods. Ever. I'm very happy with it. I have had no side effects, and I already take pills every day, so I don't forget.
    36
    Woman
    Pregnancy prevention